Back to Miscellaneous

How to Read Terry Pratchett's Discworld Series

By Date of First Publication

Not recommended, unless you're very patient at the beginning.

  1. The Colour of Magic
  2. The Light Fantastic
  3. Equal Rites
  4. Mort
  5. Sourcery
  6. Wyrd Sisters
  7. Pyramids
  8. Guards! Guards!
  9. Eric
  10. Moving Pictures
  11. Reaper Man
  12. Witches Abroad
  13. Small Gods
  14. Lords and Ladies
  15. Men At Arms
  16. Soul Music
  17. Interesting Times
  18. Maskerade
  19. Feet of Clay
  20. Hogfather
  21. Jingo
  22. The Last Continent
  23. Carpe Jugulum
  24. The Fifth Elephant
  25. The Truth
  26. Thief of Time
  27. The Last Hero
  28. The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents
  29. Night Watch

For Readers Who Understand That The Watch Books Really Are The Best

The Watch books:

  1. Guards! Guards!
  2. Men At Arms
  3. Feet of Clay
  4. Jingo
  5. The Fifth Elephant
  6. Night Watch

Before you read Night Watch, you need to have read the other Monks of History books:

  1. Small Gods
  2. Thief of Time

And before you can read Thief of Time, you have to read the main Death books:

  1. Mort
  2. Reaper Man
  3. Soul Music
  4. Hogfather

After you've read all of the above, you probably will enjoy some of the Witches of Lancre books:

  1. Equal Rites
  2. Wyrd Sisters
  3. Witches Abroad
  4. Lords and Ladies
  5. Maskerade
  6. Carpe Jugulum

And some of the books that stand on their own:

  1. Pyramids
  2. Moving Pictures
  3. The Truth
  4. The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents

After which for completeness' sake you might as well read the Rincewind/Cohen books:

  1. The Colour of Magic
  2. The Light Fantastic
  3. Sourcery
  4. Eric
  5. Interesting Times
  6. The Last Continent
  7. The Last Hero

When you're finished, check to see if any more books have been published, and if not, wait a few months and read them all again in publication order so that you can enjoy the evolution of all the minor characters.