Back to NASPA Club #3 2018–2019 Season

NASPA Club #3 2018–2019 Championship Rules

The following are the rules by which the club champions will be determined this year, in each division (A, B, C). Changes from last year are shown in bold.

  1. In order to be eligible for the championship, barring unusual circumstances, a player must have played at least one-third of the possible games in the preceding (2017–2018) season. This is to make sure that contenders are placed in appropriate divisions. Players who were temporarily absent during the preceding season, or who joined the club late in the preceding season, may petition the director during September to be placed on the eligibility list.

  2. A player's end-of-season rating in 2017–2018 determines the division in which they will be competing in 2018–2019. Players rated above 1349 are in Division A, players rated 850–1349 are in Division B, and players rated under 850 are in Division C. Players who are within 50 points of a division boundary have until the end of September to choose which side of the boundary they wish to play on. If they do not choose, then past players will remain in their past divisions, and new players will play in the appropriate division for their rating. The division breaks are chosen each year to balance the number of games played in each division.

    An exception to the preceding is that the 2017–2018 Division B Champions (Dave Krook and Eli Shupak) must compete in Division A in 2018–2019, and the 2017–2018 Division C Champion (Harry Gopaul) must compete in Division B in 2018–2019.

  3. In order to win a championship, barring extraordinary circumstances, a player must play (or be asked to sit out) an average 55% of the scheduled games during the 2018–2019 season, and 50% of the games during the first half of the season. This is to prevent a player from joining the performance rating system late and unduly perturbing other contenders' ratings.

  4. The champion will be determined on the basis of Iterated Overall Performance Ratings for the period beginning with the first night of the season in the fall and ending with the last night of the June tournament. That is, the championship rating will be the performance rating that a player would have had if all the games during that period were treated as one big tournament, and all the contenders had been unrated.

  5. If the top players have ratings that differ by no more than half the ratings multiplier of the top player, then they will share the championship.

  6. Contenders are strongly encouraged to play in the June tournament. If they are unable to do so, they must announce three sessions in advance when they plan to stop playing rated games at the club, to avoid the impression that they are sitting out on a high rating.

  7. Players may play either regular NASPA or NASPA Collins rules. If players disagree, regular NASPA rules shall be in effect. Games played under NASPA Collins rules may also be tracked under a separate SOWPODS rating system if there is sufficient interest.

The following players are eligible contenders this season:

Division A: Alex, Bryn, Crayne, Eli, Eric P, Glenn M, Heather, Jared, Mad, Marcela K, Mark E, Fern, Tony L, Zev.
Division B: Anna M, Dave K, Denis, Doug, Esther, Harry, Lisa K, Lynda, Margaret M, Nicholas, Peter Hopkins, Sarah R, Sharmaine, Sharon J.
Division C: Andrew R, Ani M, Barry M, Carmela, Cheryl H, Diane F, Mickie, Pauline, Peter Hillerup, Ron W, Roseanne C, Sharon D.